ABS-CBN Rakes in 38 Awards at 5th Media Icon Awards

ABS-CBN.Corp.Comm October 28, 2019 03:54 PM

ABS-CBN chief content officer Charo Santos-Concio accepted the Hall of Fame award for Best Drama Anthology given to MMK

AC Bonifacio took home the Most Influential Social Media Personality award

Anthony Taberna received the Best Morning Show Host award and Best Morning Show for Umagang Kay Ganda

Dyan Castillejo won Best Sports Program Host

Jopet Sison and Atty. Jose Sison were present to receive the trophy for Ipaglaban Mo as the Best Public Service Program

Kadenang Ginto Gold Squad member Seth Fedelin is this year's Most Promising Male Star

Kuya Kim Atienza is now a Hall of Famer in Alta Media Icon Awards after receiving his 5th Best Educational Program Host trophy

Moira Dela Torre won Best Female Recording Artist

Ted Failon accepted the Best AM Radio Program for Failon Ngayon on DZMM

The TNT Boys, Erik Santos, and Moira Dela Torre receive the Hall of Fame award for Best Musical Variety Show given to ASAP Natin 'To.

TNT Boys Francis Concepcion, Mackie Empuerto, and Keifer Sanchez won as Best Child Performers for TV

ABS-CBN came home as the most-awarded television network at the 5th Alta Media Icon Awards, after raking in 38 recognitions in the awarding held recently at the University of Perpetual Help-System DALTA in Las Piñas City.

Leading the Kapamilya winners are new Hall of Fame awardees “ASAP (Best Musical Variety Show), “Maalaala Mo Kaya” (Best Drama Anthology), Umagang Kay Ganda” (Best Morning Show),and “Matanglawin” host Kim Atienza, who won his fifth Best Educational Program Host award.

ABS-CBN Integrated News and Current Affairs took home nine awards led by DZMM (Best AM Radio Station), “Failon Ngayon” (Best AM Radio Program), and “Sports U” (Best Sports Program) along with “Umagang Kay Ganda.” Veteran anchors and personalities like Kim, Anthony Taberna (Best Morning Show Host), Dyan Castillejo (Best Sports Program Host), and Julius Babao (Best AM Radio Male Personality) also won for ABS-CBN News.  “The Bottomline with Boy Abunda,” meanwhile, was named Best News Talk Program while Boy Abunda  won Best News Talk Program Host.

ABS-CBN also received much love and appreciation in the entertainment categories, where it bagged most of the major awards. Hit shows that received citations aside from “Maalaala Mo Kaya” and “ASAP” were primetime hit “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano” (Best Primetime Drama Series), afternoon hit “Kadenang Ginto” (Best Daytime Drama Series), “Home Sweetie Home” (Best Comedy Program), “It’s Showtime” (Best Noontime Variety Show), “Magandang Buhay” (Best Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show), “Wansapanataym” (Best Youth-Oriented Program), “Ipaglaban Mo” (Best Public Service Program), “I Can See Your Voice” (Best Game Show), “Pilipinas Got Talent 2018” (Best Reality/Talent Search Program),

Kapamilya stars such as Angel Locsin (Most Influential Female TV Personality), “It’s Showtime’s” Anne Curtis (Best Variety Show Host), Toni Gonzaga (Best Comedy Actress for TV), Billy Crawford (Best Reality Talent Show Host), Jericho Rosales (Best Drama Actor), and Luis Manzano (Best Game Show Host) received awards for their individual performances. Also honored were Seth Fedelin (Most Promising Male Star), Francine Diaz (Most Promising Female Star), and the TNT Boys (Best Child Performers for TV).

Blockbuster hit “The Hows of Us” (Movie of The Year) came away with the top honors in the film category with Kathryn Bernardo (Best Actress for Film) and Daniel Padilla (Best Actor for Film) taking home top individual recognitions as well as the Loveteam of the Year citation.

On the music front, Gary Valenciano (Iconic Awardee for Music) and Moira Dela Torre (Best Female Recording Artist) celebrated victories of their own. AC Bonifacio (Most Influential Social Media Personality) and MOR 101.9’s, the FM Radio station of ABS-CBN, “Dear MOR” (Best FM Radio Program) capped off the victorious night for ABS-CBN.

The Alta Media Icon Awards is on its fifth year of giving due recognition and appreciation to the practitioners in the media industry and is participated upon by the communication students and department members of the UPHSD.

University of Perpetual Help System DALTA
Ernesto Palanca Crisostomo Hall, University of Perpetual Help System Dalta, Las Pinas City Campus

Best AM Radio Station                                      -  DZMM
Best AM Radio Program                                    -  Failon Ngayon
Best AM Radio Male Personality                        -  Julius Babao
Best FM Radio Program                                    -  Dear MOR

Best Morning Show Host                                   -  Anthony Taberna (Umagang Kay Ganda)
Best News Talk Program Host                           -  Boy Abunda (The Bottomline with Boy Abunda)
Best Sports Program Host                                 -  Dyan Castillejo (Sports U)
Best Educational Program Host                         -  Kim Atienza (Matanglawin) (Hall of Fame)

Best Morning Show                                           -  Umagang Kay Ganda (Hall of Fame)
Best News Talk Program                                   -  The Bottomline with Boy Abunda
Best Sports Program                                         -  Sports U

Best Child Performers for TV                              -  TNT Boys (Your Face Sounds Familiar Kids)
Best Comedy Actress for TV                              -  Toni Gonzaga (Home Sweetie Home)
Best Drama Actor for TV                                    -  Jericho Rosales (Halik)
Best Reality Talent Show Host                           -  Billy Crawford (Your Face Sounds Familiar Kids)
Best Game Show Host                                      -  Luis Manzano (I Can See Your Voice)
Best Variety Show Host                                     -  Anne Curtis (It’s Showtime)
Most Influential Female TV Personality               -  Angel Locsin
Most Promising Male Star                                  -  Seth Fedelin (Kadenang Ginto)
Most Promising Female Star                              -  Francine Diaz (Kadenang Ginto)

Best Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show                      -  Magandang Buhay
Best Noontime Variety Show                              -  It’s Showtime
Best Primetime Drama Series                            -  Ang Probinsyano
Best Daytime Drama Series                               -  Kadenang Ginto
Best Musical Variety Show                                 -  ASAP (Hall of Fame)
Best Drama Anthology                                      -  Maalaala Mo Kaya (Hall of Fame)
Best Comedy Program                                      -  Home Sweetie Home
Best Game Show                                              -  I Can See Your Voice
Best Public Service Program                              -  Ipaglaban Mo
Best Reality / Talent Search Program                 -  Pilipinas Got Talent 2018
Best Youth-Oriented Program                            -  Wansapanataym

Iconic Awardee for Music                                   -  Gary Valenciano

Movie of the Year                                              -  The Hows of Us
Best Actor for Film                                             -  Daniel Padilla
Best Actress for Film                                         -  Kathryn Bernardo
Loveteam of the Year                                        - Kathryn Bernardo and Daniel Padilla

Most Influential Female Social Media Personality -  AC Bonifacio

Best Female Recording Artists                           -  Moira Dela Torre